Response to a NYT editorial (via Patterns in Practice)

I’m so pleased that Al Cuoco crafted a cogent response to a recent NY Times editorial regarding “what needs to happen in math education.” Here’s his post.

A recent editorial in the New York Times: http://www.nytimes.com/2011/08/25/opinion/how-to-fix-our-math-education.html puts forth a plan to “fix math education.'' I'm disappointed. The arguments presented are variations on themes that have surfaced (and been debunked) several times over the past century.  The ones in this NYT piece are especially weak examples of this genre. First of all, the authors set up a straw man in their characterization … Read More

via Patterns in Practice

About roughlynormal

I have been a math/statistics teacher for 25 years. I currently teach at an independent school in southern California. I also coach teaching fellows for Math for America - Los Angeles chapter. I love my career, my colleagues, and my friends & family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment